Real Life Superheroes - The Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Real Life Superheroes - The Forum

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

First aid series: "ow my ankle"

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
toggle

toggle

Category :
  • Hero Support
  • Non-RLSH

First aid series: "ow my ankle" Empty
PostSubject: First aid series: "ow my ankle"   First aid series: "ow my ankle" Icon_minitime1Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:03 pm

Same disclaimer as last thread - I am not a doctor - I am an EMT-B with 6+ years experience.

This part of the series is about joint or soft-tissue injuries, assuming minor or no bleeding (see the other thread for that).

In EMT-land, we assess soft tissue injuries with acronym DCAP-BTLS: deformities, contusions (bruises), abrasions (scrapes), penetrations, burns, tenderness, lacerations (tears), and swelling. Use this assessment as your guide for whether to seek medical attention, as well as the level of pain - if you absolutely cannot move the joint, or cannot put any weight on it, it's time to head to a doc. If you know how, take a pulse at the extremity related to the joint (so, if the elbow hurts, at the wrist). If you can't feel a pulse, or the extremity starts changing color, get medical attention immediately. It may mean the injury is interfering with the circulatory system, like a dislocated bone pressing on an artery.

Once it's time to move, whether or not you'll be seeing a doc, it's a good idea to stabilize the joint. Most patients help you out with this instinctively - you'll find the patient holding his joint in what they call a "position of comfort", just because it hurts too damn much to bend it. Have your patient hold the joint in the position of comfort, and then stabilize it so they can let go.