Real Life Superheroes - The Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Real Life Superheroes - The Forum

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

How to Start Crime Mapping

Go down 
+3
Gauge
JohnDoe
Krystalline
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Krystalline

Krystalline

Category :
  • Public Service
  • Hero Support

How to Start Crime Mapping Empty
PostSubject: How to Start Crime Mapping   How to Start Crime Mapping Icon_minitime1Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:21 pm

So, I'm still relatively new to Oracle work, and I'm certainly new to the idea of crime mapping. My question is: where should we start on setting up long-term crime mapping for the cities that we're in (or in my case, asked to make a crime map for)?

I know the obvious answers such as:

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
the Oracle Project
news reports in the area

I guess what I'm asking is how one narrows down the sheer flood of information to make an accurate map. Should you start with one crime, map where those happen and then go from crime to crime? OR should you start by googling the areas and working off of the crime information that shows up for each neighborhood in the area you're trying to map?

Also, if you're in the area, how should you take into account the information you can get from the locals? I've noticed over time that the best way to learn about what's going on in a community is to start where the older men hang out and gossip (in the South, at least in smaller cities, I've noticed that to be the local Hardees), or to check in on the older men's wives/partners hang out and gossip. How should this be taken into account considering that they're more likely to have information on crimes and local neighborhoods that the newspapers often don't have (or leave out)?